A wise friend of mine is known to say “When you don’t know what to do, don’t do anything.” And it’s very good advice. Sometimes rushing into action is not the best idea. Our subconscious often has information about situations that we don’t access consciously. And when you’re at a crossroads of some sort or another and can’t decide what to do or which way to go, it is often a good thing to just not do anything.

I’m at that place right now about a certain aspect of my life. I feel as if I should make a decision which will affect both my life as well as that of my husband and children (not in a huge way, but it will affect them.) I just am not sure which way to go.

As I was out doing chores today in the snow (we live on a farm where we have horses, goats, and chickens) I found myself going over the possibilities in my mind. Just worrying at the decision like a dog will a bone. Still don’t know for sure what to do. So I decided, I won’t do anything. But I will ask for wisdom and clarity, which will help me to make the right decision.

Many of my friends are devout Christians, many follow other religions. But this advice works in pretty much any theology. If you don’t know what to do, pray to your diety for clarity and wisdom, and do it in a way that you are expressing gratitude for having been granted it.

The Universe is a funny place. Often, in order to “get” something, we are best served by giving thanks for that thing. So because I was seeking clarity and wisdom, I decided to thank God for it. As I did my chores, I said out loud “Thank you God for the clarity and wisdom to make the right decision.” I said it a number of times as I walked about with the water and feed (the critters didn’t seem to care at all, as long as they got their food!)

I know that for a number of years Affirmations were poked fun at by many, including the Stuart Smalley character on Saturday Night Live (which I found hysterical, fwiw.) But despite the humor, Affirmations really do work. If you say a thing out loud, you’re helping to create it in your life. What You Say Is What You Get, as it were (sort of like WYSIWYG on a computer.) If you put out there that things are bad, the Universe/God will give you bad things. If you put out there that you have good things, well then, that’s what you’ll get!

I know that sounds simple, and to a certain degree it really is. But I can’t emphasize enough how important your self talk is. Pay attention to how you speak about yourself and your life. See if you’re putting negative stuff out there, or if what you’re putting out is positive. And if it is negative, try making some changes to how you talk about things, and see if life itself doesn’t change too.

Saying a little prayer of gratitude for things you “want” is always a good way to make them happen/come about. So try being grateful for financial security, even if you’re not experiencing it now. Try saying thanks for good health, even if you’re struggling with a health issue at the moment. And most importantly, say these prayers of thanks out loud. Not only does God/the Universe need to hear them out loud, so does your subconscious.

And remember what that wise woman said, and if you’re not sure what to do, ask for guidance so that you’ll know it when it presents itself to you. Can’t hurt, might help a lot.