In her blog Uneasy Pink my good friend Katie posted a link to an enlightening (not in a good way) video and website that I want to share with you all. The site is The Campaign for Safe Cosmetics, and the video is a pretty cute treatment of a decidedly unsettling subject. The bottom line is, the cosmetics and personal health care products we all use every day contain a myriad of toxic and dangerous chemicals, some of which have never been tested, and a number of which wind up being stored in our bodies forever, having who knows what consequences!

I won’t reiterate the information available on the site and in the video, it’s well worth watching/reading. And I will admit that I’m not going to toss all my cosmetics and personal care products into the garbage this second. But I am going to do some research to find ways to attain the results I’m looking for without becoming a walking talking toxic waste dump. I don’t wear a lot of makeup these days, (living on a farm and doing chores in the Kentucky high heat makes makeup slide right off my face), but when I do, I’m going to look for safer things to wear.

And while I’m past childbearing, my two daughters are not, and this is a strong motivator for me to find things for them to use that will keep them, and my future grandchildren safe. Even things we’d think would be pure and “natural” such as baby shampoos, apparently contain toxic chemicals, which seems wrong on so many levels.

While I’m doing my research (about which I’ll report back here from time to time), I’m going to shop more wisely for personal care products. I found a great card to print out and carry in my purse here at the Environmental Working Group‘s website, where they have a Shoppers Guide to Safe Cosmetics. The EWG has a database where you can plug in items you use, and see them rated according to a “Hazard Score” (see this FAQ for the explanation of how they rate products.) Very enlightening, and somewhat scary. But knowledge is power, and once we know what’s safe and what’s not so much, we can search for alternatives.

I want to thank my friend Katie for kick-starting me on this quest, as a Natmed guru, I should have addressed this issue long ago. Thanks Bug!