I’ve been a Natmed mom for many years now, and am one of the “older moms” in a group of friends who mostly have younger kids (mine are in their late teens.) Often I find myself recommending the same things over and over, so thought I’d write it up here so I can just post a link in the future (lazy git that I am.)

IMO, there is a short list of natural medicine items that no home or family should be without. Herewith:

1. The homeopathic remedy Arnica Montana. Keep it in pill form in several potencies (I like to make “chords”, which I’ll write about later), like 6x, 12c, and 30c if you can find them. I like the meltaway tablets made by Hylands, they’re easiest for kids.

2. Arnica Montana in gel form. It is a must have for any minor trauma that doesn’t involve broken skin/blood. The best thing known to man for preventing and reducing the effects of bruises, just pure magic. See my previous post about the horse who stomped on my foot for more info about the gel.

3. The Bach Flower Essence Rescue Remedy. It comes in drop and spray form, and for kids the spray is much easier to use. Again, perfect for falls, bumps, bruises, bashed fingers, whatever may make a child (or adult!) mentally or emotionally upset. It works on the mind and emotions to remove the fear/angst of whatever traumatic event might have transpired. I used it extensively during the time after my mother’s sudden death, as I had so much to do and needed to put aside my grief for a time so that I could function. It calms and boosts the mind and spirit, and I carry it and Arnica pills in my purse at all times.

4. The homeopathic remedy Apis Mellifluca, fairly specific to bee and insect stings and bites.

5. Tea Tree Oil, which is a natural topical antibiotic (again, not for broken skin) and fungus fighter. Best used diluted, depending on the type you buy, I prefer unscented almond oil to dilute mine, but your mileage may vary, choose a carrier oil that works for you. And please keep it away from small children in its undiluted form, as it can be toxic if ingested.

6. Ginger, either in crystalline form or as a tea. Perfect for upset tummies and safe for pregnant moms.

7. The essential oil Lavender. Wonderful for its calming effect, on man or beast (I used to use it on a horse we had who was very nervous, and it worked a treat.) Great for adding a few drops to a warm bath, or a steamy washcloth, or just in a diffuser.

8. Elderberry tincture or syrup. I posted at length here about the wonders of elderberry, and if I had to pick just one herb to have in the house, this would be the one.

9. Badger Balm Sleep Balm, wonderful stuff for anyone dealing with insomnia who doesn’t want to go the allopathic route and take pills that might make you do weird stuff like “sleep eating.”

10. Last but not least, two great books for any Natmed family’s bookshelf: Prescription for Nutritional Healing by Phyllis Balch, and the Family Guide to Homeopathy by Andrew Lockie. You can find them at most bookstores and health food stores.

These are the ten Natmed items I’d stock a first aid kit with. I wouldn’t want to be without these as I go through life, and I recommend them to all.